View Post

Dr. Davis Visits Hillhouse High School in New Haven, Connecticut — With Acceptances Ready

In News by Garette Hunter

Hillhouse High School senior Chamar Lee came to school never having heard of North Carolina’s Livingstone College — until he was surprised with a visit and ​“opportunity of a lifetime” by the college’s president. Fifteen of Hillhouse’s Class of 2024 were given on-the-spot acceptances to the private Black Christian college during a 10-city tour stop on Friday by the college’s president, Anthony J. Davis, who himself is a New Haven native. The Friday event was arranged by Connecticut NAACP President Scot X. Esdaile, New Haven Public Schools (NHPS) Youth, Family, and Community Supervisor Kermit Carolina, and Taneha Edwards, a college access advisor at Hillhouse for Higher Heights. Out of 25 applications received on Friday, 15 local student Academics left the Sherman Parkway school’s auditorium as potential future Blue Bears. Seven seniors received full rides. Shari Hill, a senior recruiter at the college, reported that a total of $215,000 for students’ first years at Livingstone was given out Friday. Chaka Felder-McEntire, the founder and executive director of Higher Heights Youth Empowerment Programs, Inc., was also in attendance Friday. In addition to Hillhouse, Higher Heights is in partnership with New Haven Public Schools at High School in the Community and Hill Regional Career High School.     Davis told the Hillhouse class of 2024 that he grew up in foster care in New Haven. That obstacle didn’t stop him from having hope, he said. He said during his senior year of high school, he had 90 days to make a decision for his future before he aged out of the system and would become homeless. He decided …

Directory

Browse by DepartmentClick on desired link below to reveal departmental pagesEmergencyCampus Police 704 216-6164Health Services704 216-6725Administrative OfficesOffice of the PresidentOffice of Academic AffairsOffice of AthleticsOffice of Business and FinanceOffice of Communications & Public RelationsOffice of Human Resource  Office of Institutional AdvancementOffice of Public Safety & Campus PoliceOffice of Student AffairsCollege and Academic DepartmentsDivision of BusinessDivision of Education, Psychology & Social WorkDivision of Liberal Arts & Humanities Division of Mathematics and Science Division of Hospitality Management  INSTITUTIONAL OFFICESAndrew Carnegie LibraryEvening & Weekend CollegeBookstoreCashierCareer & Professional DevelopmentCounseling ServicesFinancial AidIT Service DeskMail & Package ServicesResidence LifeRegistrar Success CenterStudent ActivitiesSearch for Staff or FACULTY NamePositionOffice LocationEmail AddressOffice Number Office of the President Davis, Dr. AnthonyPresident of Livingstone Collegeadavis@livingstone.edu Johnson, TraceyExecutive Administrative Assistanttjohnson@livingstone.edu6098 Hatcher, ValerieExecutive Administrative Assistant to the Office of the Presidentvhatcher@livingstone.edu6152 Communications & Public Relations Alexander, III, Dr. State W.V.P. of Communications & Public Relations/ Executive Assistant to the Presidentsalexan@livingstone.edu6067 Anderson, KeithMultimedia Directorkanderson@livingstone.edu6041 Print Shop Manager/Senior Graphic Designer6162 Cartwright, Atty GingerTitle IX Coordinator/Criminal Justice Adjunct Professorgcartwright@livingstone.edu6997 Gillespie, PrestonAssistant Multimedia Directorpgillespie@livingstone.edu6041 Hunter, GaretteAdministrative Coordinator Communications & Public Relationsghunter@livingstone.edu6153 Woods, GeniaRadio Personality/Radio Station Managergwoods@livingstone.edu6041 Perez, EzekielMultimedia Assistanteperez@livingstone.edu6041 Academic Affairs McNair, Dr. Dawn Provost & VP for Academic Affairs/Dean of Mathematics and Sciencedmcnair@livingstone.edu6194 Henley, Dr. AntonioAVP for Academic Affairs/SACSCOC Institutional Accreditation Liaison/Professor of Educationahenley@livingstone.edu6942 Howie, RavenAdministrative Assistantrhowie@Livingstone.edu 6195 Jackson, WendyRegistrarwjackson@livingstone.edu6158 Mahmud, PhyllisAdministrative Assistantpmahmud@livingstone.edu6210 Director of QEP Evening & Weekend College Dean, Dr. CurtisDirector Evening & Weekend Collegecdean@livingstone.edu6834 Lane, ShannonAdministrative Assistantslane@livingstone.edu6038 Enrollment Management/Admission Brooks, AnthonyVP for Enrollment Mgmt.abrooks@livingstone.edu6005 Lucas, Dr. WillAVP for Enrollment Mgmt.wlucas@livingstone.edu6034 Bolar, TashaSr. Assistant Director Admissions/PDSOtbolar@livingstone.edu6002 Colbert, DeborahAdministrative Assistantdcolbert@livingstone.edu6001 Hill, ShariSr. Recruitershill@livingstone.edu6110 Kyles, SylvesterSr. Recruiterskyles@livingstone.edu6159 McConeyhead, TiffanyData Entry Specialisttmcconeyhead@livingstone.edu6004 Patterson, …

View Post

Livingstone College to host virtual events for Big Read in Salisbury this month

In News by Garette Hunter

College awarded $15K grant for project   SALISBURY – Livingstone College will hold a virtual kick-off celebration followed by a number of events for the National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) Big Read celebration beginning at 11 a.m. on Monday, March 15. The NEA Big Read in Rowan County will focus on Adrian Matejka’s, “The Big Smoke.” The selected text is an exquisite collection of poetry that depicts the heavyweight champion Jack Johnson as a social phenomenon through a literary lens, said Dr. Da’Tarvia Parrish, Big Read in Salisbury program director and history and African-American studies professor at Livingstone College. The Big Read will include book talks, film viewings and panel discussions led by Parrish and other Livingstone faculty members including Dr. Charles Pinckney, Dr. Tarsha Reid, Dr. P. Jane Splawn, Shannon Allen, Michael Connor, Christopher Davis, Damein Greatheart and Phyllis Mahmud. Livingstone College student leaders Shanique Brinkley, William McCorn, Miss Livingstone Eryka Praileau, Deborah Walker and Kameron Wilson will join in the fun as reader leaders to grades K-5. Alumni who will lend their expertise consists of Dr. Momodu C. Taylor and David Gaines, as well as William McKee of Rowan-Cabarrus Community College. Big Read will also feature Livingstone College’s WLJZ 107.1 FM radio host, Mz Good Newz. Livingstone College was awarded a $15,000 grant to host the NEA Big Read in Rowan County. It is presented in partnership with the Rowan Public Library and Families and Communities Together (F.A.C.T.) with support from the NEA. The college was one …

View Post

LC students volunteer at 2021 Super Bowl

In Pebbles by Garette Hunter

 Among the Buccaneers and the Chiefs this weekend in Tampa Bay are a pair of Blue Bears. Livingstone seniors Kyle Wright and Quintasia McLane are volunteering at Super Bowl LV, under the leadership and guidance of Dr. Charles Crowley, department chair of sport management, hospitality management and culinary arts. The students were selected to volunteer at the Super Bowl Experience, which is a program designed for students to teach the business side of sports and to offer insight on what it’s like to run a major sporting event.  This week, Wright and McLane volunteered at the NFL Experience for fans, but were invited to also work inside the Raymond James Stadium on game day, which will have limited in-person attendance. Extreme precautions are being taken to mitigate the spread of the coronavirus including daily screenings and testing. Masks must also be worn at all times. “They are being very COVID conscious,” Crowley said of the organizers. This is the second year that Livingstone students participated at the Super Bowl through the program.  Crowley said Livingstone was selected based on an extensive application process. The students each received official Super Bowl credentials along with paraphernalia.